Nail Clippers

August 7, 2011

Cutting Astrid’s nails scared the bejesus out of me. Babies’ nails are so small and their fingertips are right there and you’re supposed to do it in the dark while they’re sleeping, for God’s sake. It took me a little while to work up my courage to trim them but trim them you must: if you don’t, your baby will look like you let her play with little tiny knives, which, if you don’t cut her little razory nails, you basically do.

A nail clipper came with one of the baby bath kits I already had, but they looked cheap, not sharp and too small to hold steadily, so I looked around at Babies R Us the next time I was there and found the Safety 1st Sleepy Baby Nail Clippers. They’re big enough for an adult hand plus they have a minuscule flashlight built into the tip so you can see what you’re doing in the dark – or even just up close to tiny, translucent fingernails. They’re fantastic. I give a set to all my expectant mom friends: anything that makes a new mom’s day easier and less anxious is a good idea.

$6 at Babies R Us stores or online at Amazon

Leave a Reply

